16.04. ‐ 21.04.2024

10th LICHTER Art Award Show

The long-awaited exhibition of the 10th LICHTER Art Award is open. Until April 17, 2022, the works of the five finalists as well as selected works from previous editions will be on display at the LAA RETRO-KINO in the exhibition rooms of basis e.V.

The works - ranging from documentaries to essay films, animations to fictional and real narratives - were selected by a three-person jury consisting of artist Natasha A. Kelly, Gerhard Wissner Ventura, director of the Kassel Dokfest, and Saul Judd, leading curator of the LICHTER Art Award. They deal with social and political conflicts and provide insights into social phenomena of our present and past. Other selected works by artists and jury members from past LICHTER Art Award editions will be on view at the LAA RETRO-KINO as part of the exhibition.

Afterwards, the curated exhibition of the 12th LICHTER Art Award will open on April 21st at 7 p.m.. The winner will be awarded with a LAA Bembel and 1,000 € on May 09, 2022. The nominated works will be on display at basis e.V. until May 15, 2022.

The 10th LICHTER Art Award Nominees:

Vanessa Gravenor / This Weapon Drags Like a Boomerang, 2019 (CDN/D)
Constantin Hartenstein / NARC, 2019 (D)
Florencia Levy / Fossil Place, 2019 (ARG) // Installation - Winner
Pol Merchan / Pirate Boys, 2018 (E/D)
Maria Molina Peiró / The Sasha, 2019 (E/NL)

The 10. LICHTER Art Award winner Florencia Levy received the prize, which is endowed with 1,000 €, at an online awards ceremony on the 2nd of May 2021 during the 14th LICHTER Filmfest Frankfurt International.


Luciana Lamothe / Hanna Hildebrand / Rebecca Ann Tess / Yuki Kishino / John Skoog / Clementine Coupau / Murray Gaylard / Luiz Roque / Bertrand Flanet / Mandy Krebs / Alina Vasilchenko / Jonathan Van Essche / Holger Jenss / Luzie Meyer / Stefan Ramírez Pérez / Nikita Diakur / Jakob Engel / Martin Kohout / Ingel Vaikla / Fabiano Mixo / Yalitsa Riden / Sita Scherer & Tina Schönfelder / James N. Kienitz Wilkins / Tobi Sauer / Endre Aalrust / Zanny Begg / Andrew de Freitas / Lisa Kori / Mathilde Ter Heijne / Judith Hopf / Tamara Grcic / Natasha A. Kelly

February, 24  - April 17, 2022

basis e. V.
Gutleutstraße 8 – 12
60329 Frankfurt am Main

Opening Hours
DI – FR 2 – 7 p.m.
SA / SO 12 – 6 p.m.
– Admission is free of charge –

Supported by:

Hessische Kulturstiftung Logo2