22.04. ‐ 27.04.2025

LICHTER Juries 2024

The juries of the 17th LICHTER Filmfest Frankfurt International

Jury Regional Feature Film Competition

Nils Menrad

Nils Menrad is a festival director and media artist. He founded dokKa - das dokumentarfestival and has been its director since 2014. After studying media art and film at the Karlsruhe University of Arts and Design (HfG), he worked on film and media projects for museums, institutions and companies.

In addition to his artistic work, he is actively involved in various cultural organizations and committees in Karlsruhe. His commitment to the promotion of film art and cultural diversity has had a lasting impact on the artistic and cultural landscape in Karlsruhe and beyond. Furthermore, he also teaches documentary film in the context of various lectureships.



Bella Halben

Bella Halben lives in her hometown of Hamburg, where she completed an apprenticeship as a commercial photographer. After her training she started as a camera assistant, then quickly became an operator in the areas of current affairs, documentary film and advertising film. She took over the camera and direction of various advertising productions and has been working as a freelance camerawoman since 1988.

In 1995, she took over the cinematography for Christopher Roth's film LOOOSERS! She has received numerous awards for her ongoing camera work: in 2006 the Adolf Grimme Award in Gold for Hans Steinbichler's film HIERANKL, also in 2006 the German Television Award for BELLA BLOCK - DAS GLÜCK DER ANDEREN.

In 2006 and 2009, she was nominated for the German Camera Award for Caroline Link's films HIERANKL and IM WINTER EIN JAHR. She has been responsible for the cinematography in numerous award-winning cinema and television film productions. Most recently for DAS WUNDER VON KAPSTADT (2022) and Caroline Link's miniseries SAFE (2022), among others.

She has shot numerous cinema and television productions with Hans Steinbichler, Caroline Link, Francis Meletzky, Nicolette Krebitz, Anno Saul, Detlef Buck, Franziska Buch and many others.

In 2023, she received the German Cinematography Award of Honour.

Wolfgang Richter

Wolfgang Richter is an independent filmmaker. He is one of the founders of AG DOK, a member of the Association of German Film Critics and the German and European Film Academy.

In 1972, Wolfgang Richter founded docfilm with Hannes Karnick and docMovie GmbH in 2012.

They made around one hundred TV documentaries on political, cultural and social topics and successful cinema films such as MARTIN NIEMÖLLER - WHAT WOULD JESUS SAY? (1985), RADIO STAR - THE AFN STORY (1994) and WHEN DOCTORS KILL (2009).

His films have received funding from the BKM, Hamburg, NW and Hessen and have been shown and honoured at many film festivals in Germany and abroad, including Berlin, Bilbao, Bombay, Bratislava, Cannes, Chicago, Denver, Florence, Galway, Hof, Krakow, Los Angeles, Leipzig, Lille, Mannheim, Munich, Ludwigshafen, Montreal, Moscow, Oberhausen, Tampere and Zagreb.

The docMovie production RADICAL EVIL (written and directed by Oscar winner Stefan Ruzowitzky), which was supported by Hessen, received the Avner Shalev-Yad Vashem Prize 2014 at the International Jerusalem Film Festival, among others.

Jury Regional Short Film Competition

Luana Almeida Pees

Luana Almeida Pees makes short films as a producer, director and author and is currently studying at the German Film and Television Academy Berlin (DFFB). Born in Berlin, she grew up in São Paulo and Vienna and studied Theatre, Film and Media Studies at Goethe University Frankfurt. In 2021, she founded the "Bildsturz Kollektiv" with young filmmakers from the Rhine-Main region.

Natascha Gikas

Natascha Gikas studied sociology and theater, film and television studies in Frankfurt am Main. From 1990, she gained her first experience in cinema work at CinéMayence in Mainz and at the Frankfurt Filmschau. She was involved in the realization of various short film projects.

Since 1995, she has been a permanent employee at the cinema in the ‘Deutsches Filmmuseum’ in the areas of programme design and conception of film series. She has also been head of the cinema department since 2016. Her activities also include various jury and board work as well as involvement in film festivals, including as director of the Africa Alive Festival.

Nikita Diakur

Nikita Diakur experiments with forms and narrative styles in his works. He creates stories about bizarre characters and the whims of physics in everyday life, which often leads to unexpected twists and turns. His latest works "Ugly", "Fest" and "backflip" have received numerous awards and screened at international film festivals. Diakur shares his expertise through lectures and workshops, participated in the artist-in-residence programme at Q21 in Vienna and is a member of the European Film Academy.

Jury 14th LICHTER Art Award

Iryna Yaniv

Iryna Yaniv is a Ukrainian-German cultural manager and curator. She has been organizing and curating expanded cinema program at the Cinémathèque Leipzig since 2022. Recent projects include a film program for the exhibition "Perspectives of war and belonging", a film and event series for the 150th birthday of Hanns Eisler, the exhibition by Kat Austen "This Land is Not Mine". In 2018 and 2019, she was a jury member of the Festival for Contemporary Arts “Zukunftsvisionen” in Görlitz and co-designer of the supporting program.

In Ukraine, she focused on cultural policy topics and, along with five other experts, was part of the working group that developed the cultural strategy for the city of Lviv. From 2013 to 2016 she worked in the PPV Knowledge Network, where she implemented socio-cultural projects in Eastern and Central Ukraine.



Marie Oucherif

Marie Oucherif is a curator and art theorist. She studied Comparative Literature in Vienna and Paris and Curatorial Studies in Frankfurt am Main. From 2020 to 2023, she worked as assistant curator at the Schirn Kunsthalle Frankfurt on the exhibitions Cosima von Bonin – Feelings (2024), Elizabeth Price – Sound of the Break (2023), Niki de Saint Phalle (2023), Carlos Bunga (2022) and WALK! (2022), and curated the solo exhibition Maruša Sagadin – Luv Birds in toten Winkeln (2023). For the monthly video art platform DOUBLE FEATURE, she has worked with the moving image artists Peng Zuqiang, Maeve Brennan, Lydia Ourahmane, Pınar Öğrenci and Belinda Kazeem-Kamiński.

In addition to her curatorial work, Marie Oucherif regularly writes texts. She is the editor of the accompanying publication of the exhibition Maruša Sagadin – Luv Birds in toten Winkeln (Kettler 2023), and co-editor of the publication WALK! (Verlag für moderne Kunst 2022). Furthermore, she has written texts for catalogues such as Rasoul Ashtary (Diez Gallery 2022) and Art for No One (Hirmer 2022).

Saul Judd

Saul Judd is an independent curator based in Frankfurt, Germany. Since 2010 he has been responsible for the video art section of the LICHTER Filmfest Frankfurt International. He conceived exhibitions with artists such as Keren Cytter and Mike Bouchet in the context of the festival until he created the LICHTER Art Award in 2011. He started to curate the LICHTER Short Films International program in 2015. Among his projects BLANK SLATE a publication about art, architecture and design he started in 2016 with SCHAUT! - a series of exhibitions of contemporary art film and video art at the MAL SEH’N movie theatre in Frankfurt. In 2017 he presented the artist John Skoog as a guest curator for Double Feature at Schirn Kunsthalle.

JURY - 8. VR STORYTELLING AWARD

© Jessica Schäfer

Sebastian Oschatz

Sebastian Oschatz is co-founder and creative director at MESO (https://MESO.DESIGN). Through MESO, he supports museums, institutions and companies in the development of pioneering digital communication solutions and advises on the interface between communication, architecture and technology. He studied computer science, initiated the development of the graphical programming language VVVV and is an honorary professor for interaction design in the Department of Design at HfG Offenbach.

Philip Hausmeier

Professor Philip Hausmeier is head of the Augmented and Virtual Reality Design course at Darmstadt University of Applied Sciences. As a freelance artist and designer, he has been showing his work in international exhibitions for two decades and is represented in various collections. He is also co-founder of Radiance VR, an international online platform for artistic VR experiences.

© Norbert Miguletz

Franziska Nori

Franziska Nori has headed the Frankfurt Art Association since November 2014. Between 2007 and 2014 she was director of the Centro di Cultura Contemporanea Strozzina at the Palazzo Strozzi in Florence after she headed the digital art department at the Museum of Applied Arts in Frankfurt from 2000 to 2003. Nori has been Honorary Professor of Museology and Curatorial Practices of Contemporary Art at Marist University Lorenzo de Medici since 2011.

>

16.04. ‐ 21.04.2024

Die LICHTER Jury 2024

Die Jurys des 17. LICHTER Filmfest Frankfurt International 2024

Jury des regionalen Langfilmwettbewerbs

Nils Menrad

Nils Menrad ist Festivalleiter und Medienkünstler. Er gründete dokKa – das dokumentarfestival und leitet dieses seit 2014. Nach seinem Studium der Medienkunst/Film an der Hochschule für Gestaltung in Karlsruhe arbeitet er an Film- und Medienprojekten für Museen, Institutionen und Unternehmen. 

Neben seiner künstlerischen Tätigkeit engagiert er sich aktiv in verschiedenen kulturellen Organisationen und Gremien in Karlsruhe. Sein Einsatz für die Förderung von Filmkunst und kultureller Vielfalt hat einen nachhaltigen Einfluss auf die künstlerische und kulturelle Landschaft in Karlsruhe und darüber hinaus. Weiterhin unterrichtet er im Rahmen verschiedener Lehraufträge zum Thema Dokumentarfilm.



Bella Halben

Bella Halben lebt in ihrer Heimatstadt Hamburg und machte dort eine Lehre als Werbefotografin. Nach der Ausbildung fing sie als Kameraassistentin an, wurde dann schnell Operator in den Bereichen aktuelle Berichterstattung, Dokumentarfilm und Werbefilm. Sie übernahm Kamera und Regie bei verschiedenen Werbeproduktionen und arbeitet seit 1988 als selbständige Kamerafrau.

1995 übernahm sie die Bildgestaltung für Christopher Roths Film LOOOSERS!. Für ihre fortlaufende Kamerarbeit erhielt sie zahlreiche Preise: 2006 den Adolf - Grimme Preis in Gold für Hans Steinbichlers Film HIERANKL, ebenfalls 2006 den Deutschen Fernsehpreis für BELLA BLOCK – DAS GLÜCK DER ANDEREN.

2006 und 2009 war sie mit den Filmen HIERANKL und IM WINTER EIN JAHR von Caroline Link für den Deutschen Kamerapreis nominiert. Sie übernahm die Bildgestaltung in zahlreichen Preisgekrönten Kino- und Fernsehfilmproduktionen. Zuletzt unter anderem für DAS WUNDER VON KAPSTADT (2022) und Caroline Links Miniserie SAFE (2022).

Sie drehte zahlreiche Kino- und Fernsehproduktionen mit Hans Steinbichler, Caroline Link, Francis Meletzky, Nicolette Krebitz, Anno Saul, Detlef Buck, Franziska Buch und vielen weiteren.

2023 erhielt sie den Ehrenpreis des Deutschen Kamerapreises.

Wolfgang Richter

Wolfgang Richter arbeitet als unabhängiger Filmemacher. Er ist einer der Gründer der AG DOK, Mitglied im Verband der deutschen Filmkritik und der Deutschen und Europäischen Filmakademie.

1972 gründet Wolfgang Richter mit Hannes Karnick docfilm und 2012 die docMovie GmbH.

Sie drehten ca. hundert TV-Dokumentarfilme über politische, kulturelle und gesellschaftliche Themen und erfolgreiche Kinofilme, wie MARTIN NIEMÖLLER - WAS WÜRDE JESUS DAZU SAGEN? (1985), RADIO STAR – DIE AFN STORY (1994) oder WENN ÄRZTE TÖTEN (2009).

Richters Filme wurden von BKM, Hamburg, NW und Hessen gefördert und bei vielen in- und ausländischen Filmfestivals gezeigt und ausgezeichnet, u.a. in Berlin, Bilbao, Bombay, Bratislava, Cannes, Chicago, Denver, Florenz, Galway, Hof, Krakau, Los Angeles, Leipzig, Lille, Mannheim, München, Ludwigshafen, Montreal, Moskau, Oberhausen, Tampere und Zagreb.

Die von Hessen geförderte docMovie Produktion DAS RADIKAL BÖSE (Buch und Regie Oscar Gewinner Stefan Ruzowitzky) erhielt u.a. auf dem Internationalen Jerusalemer Film Festival den Avner Shalev-Yad Vashem Preis 2014.



Jury des regionalen Kurzfilmwettbewerbs

Luana Almeida Pees

Luana Almeida Pees realisiert Kurzfilme als Produzentin, Regisseurin und Autorin und studiert derzeit an der Deutschen Film- und Fernsehakademie Berlin (DFFB). Geboren in Berlin, wuchs sie in São Paulo und Wien auf und absolvierte ein Studium der Theater-, Film- und Medienwissenschaft an der Goethe-Universität Frankfurt. 2021 gründete sie mit jungen Filmschaffenden aus dem Rhein-Main Gebiet das „Bildsturz Kollektiv“.

Natascha Gikas

Natascha Gikas studierte Soziologie, sowie Theater-, Film- und Fernsehwissenschaften in Frankfurt am Main. Ab 1990 sammelte sie erste Erfahrungen in der Kinoarbeit beim CinéMayence in Mainz und bei der Frankfurter Filmschau. Sie war beteiligt an der Realisierung diverser Kurzfilmprojekte.

Seit 1995 ist sie feste Mitarbeiterin beim Kino im Deutschen Filmmuseum in den Bereichen Programmgestaltung und Konzeption von Filmreihen. Sie leitet außerdem seit 2016 die Kinoabteilung. Ihre Tätigkeiten umfassen darüber hinaus sowohl diverse Jury- und Vorstandsarbeiten, als auch die Mitarbeit bei Filmfestivals: unter Anderem als Leiterin des Africa Alive Festivals.

Nikita Diakur

Nikita Diakur experimentiert in seinen Werken mit Formen und Erzählstilen. Er erschafft Geschichten über skurrile Figuren und die Launen der Physik im täglichen Leben, was oft zu unerwarteten Wendungen führt. Seine neuesten Arbeiten "Ugly", "Fest" und "backflip" erhielten zahlreiche Auszeichnungen und waren auf internationalen Filmfestivals zu sehen. Diakur teilt sein Know-how durch Vorträge und Workshops, nahm am Artist-in-Residence Programm im Q21 in Wien teil und ist ein Mitglied der Europäischen Filmakademie.

Jury des 14. LICHTER Art Awards

Iryna Yaniv

Iryna Yaniv ist eine ukrainisch-deutsche Kulturmanagerin und Kuratorin. Seit 2022 organisiert und kuratiert und sie Sonderformate in der Cinémathèque Leipzig. Zu den neusten Projekten gehören ein Filmprogramm zur Ausstellung „Perspectives on War and Belonging“, eine Film- und Veranstaltungsreihe zum 125. Geburtstag von Hanns Eisler und die Ausstellung von Kat Austen „This Land ist Not Mine“. 2018 und 2019 war sie ein Jurymitglied des Festivals für Zeitgenössische Künste „Zukunftsvisionen“ in Görlitz und Mitgestalterin des Rahmenprogramms.

In der Ukraine befasste sie sich mit Themen der Kulturpolitik, und war, neben fünf weiteren Expert:innen, Teil der Arbeitsgruppe, die die Kulturstrategie für die Stadt Lwiw entwickelt hat. 2013 – 2016 arbeitete sie in PPV Knowledge Network, wo sie soziokulturelle Projekte in der Ost- und Zentralukraine umsetzte.

Marie Oucherif

Marie Oucherif ist Kuratorin und Kunstwissenschaftlerin. Sie studierte Komparatistik in Wien und Paris sowie Curatorial Studies in Frankfurt am Main. Von 2020 bis 2023 hat sie als Assistenzkuratorin an der Schirn Kunsthalle Frankfurt u.a. an den Ausstellungen Cosima von Bonin – Feelings (2024), Elizabeth Price – Sound of the Break (2023), Niki de Saint Phalle (2023), Carlos Bunga (2022) und WALK! (2022) gearbeitet und hat die Ausstellung Maruša Sagadin – Luv Birds in toten Winkeln (2023) kuratiert. Für die monatliche Videokunst-Plattform DOUBLE FEATURE hat sie als Kuratorin mit den Künstler:innen Peng Zuqiang, Maeve Brennan, Lydia Ourahmane, Pınar Öğrenci und Belinda Kazeem-Kamiński zusammengearbeitet.

Neben ihrer kuratorischen Tätigkeit verfasst Marie Oucherif regelmäßig Texte. Sie ist Herausgeberin der Begleitpublikation zur Ausstellung Maruša Sagadin – Luv Birds in toten Winkeln (Kettler 2023) und Mitherausgeberin der Publikation WALK! (Verlag für moderne Kunst 2022). Darüber hinaus hat sie Texte für Kataloge wie Rasoul Ashtary (Diez Gallery 2022) und Kunst für Keinen (Hirmer 2022) veröffentlicht.

Saul Judd

Saul Judd, freier Kurator in Frankfurt, ist verantwortlich für die Videokunst-Sektion beim LICHTER Filmfest Frankfurt International. Im Rahmen des Festivals konzipierte er Ausstellungen mit namhaften Künstler:innen wie Keren Cytter und Mike Bouchet, bis er 2011 den LICHTER Art Award initiierte. Seit 2015 kuratiert er das LICHTER International Shorts Filmprogramm. Weitere Projekte sind BLANK SLATE, eine Publikation über Kunst, Architektur und Design und seit Januar 2016 SCHAUT! - eine Ausstellungsreihe im MAL SEH’N Kino in Frankfurt. Als Gastkurator der Filmreihe Double Feature an der Schirn Kunsthalle präsentierte er 2017 den Künstler John Skoog.

JURY DES 8. VR STORYTELLING AWARD

© Jessica Schäfer

Sebastian Oschatz

Sebastian Oschatz ist Mitgründer und Kreativdirektor bei MESO (https://MESO.DESIGN). Mit dem Büro unterstützt er Museen, Institutionen und Unternehmen bei der Entwicklung zukunftsweisender digitaler Kommunikationslösungen und berät an der Schnittstelle zwischen Kommunikation, Architektur und Technologie. Er studierte Informatik, initiierte die Entwicklung der graphische Programmiersprache VVVV und ist Honorarprofessor für Interaktionsgestaltung im Fachbereich Design an der HfG Offenbach.

Philip Hausmeier

Professor Philip Hausmeier ist Leiter des Studiengangs Augmented and Virtual Reality Design an der Hochschule Darmstadt. Seit zwei Jahrzehnten zeigt er als freischaffender Künstler und Gestalter seine Arbeiten in internationalen Ausstellungen und ist in diversen Sammlungen vertreten. Zudem ist er Mitgründer von Radiance VR, einer internationalen Online-Plattform für künstlerische VR-Experiences.

© Norbert Miguletz

Franziska Nori

Franziska Nori leitet seit November 2014 den Frankfurter Kunstverein. Von 2007 – 2014 war sie Direktorin des Centro di Cultura Contemporanea Strozzina am Palazzo Strozzi in Florenz und leitete von 2000 – 2003 die Abteilung digitaler Kunst am Museum für Angewandte Kunst in Frankfurt. Nori ist seit 2011 Honorarprofessorin für Museologie und kuratoriale Praktiken zeitgenössischer Kunst an der Marist University Lorenzo de Medici.

>