The LICHTER Art Award

The LICHTER Filmfest Frankfurt International has been celebrating independent local and international filmmaking since its beginning in 2008. Alongside annual competitions of short and feature films, the festival presents a quality program on international contemporary video art.

Curated by Saul Judd since 2010, the visual arts section started with the exhibition “stimulus kino – subliminal cinema,” focusing on the use of cinematic reference as a strategic technique in (and of) contemporary art. Among the participants of this first edition were Mike Bouchet, artist from New York now based in Frankfurt, and Keren Cytter, born in Israel, based in New York. Both Cytter and Bouchet had formerly been represented at the 53rd Venice Biennale in 2009.

An international jury chooses five finalists whose works will be shortlisted and exhibited during the LICHTER Filmfest. The winner, also appointed by the jury, will be honored with the LICHTER Art Award, a prize endowed with 1,000 Euro.

In 2011 the LICHTER Art Award was officially founded, inviting artists from all over the world to create a regular international competition accompanying the film festival. The award aims to gather and present exceptional artistic works in the contemporary field of visual arts. In 2011 Luciana Lamothe (Argentina) was recognised for her outstanding piece “Caja Tarro Silla Marco,” in 2012 Oliver Husain (D/C) won the award for his installation “Dear What’s Your Face”, in 2013 John Skoog (S/D) won for his film “Sent på Jorden”, in 2014 Bertrand Flanet (F/D) won with his installation "Unmanned Distances", in 2015 Jonathan van Essche (B) won with his film "Second of August", in 2016 James N. Kienitz Wilkins (USA) won with his film "B-Roll with Andre", in 2017 Tobi Sauer (D) won with his video work “Simba in New York”, 2018 Jakob Engel (D) was the winner with his work “Waiting for record” and in 2019 Andrew de Freitas (BRA) was the winner with his work “WEIGHT”.

LAA19 / Saul Judd, Endre Aalrust, the winner Andrew de Freitas, jury members Christina Lehnert and Tamara Grcic (f.l.t.r.) © Photo by Semir Ben Ajili

For more details click here.

LAA18 / jury member Sergey Harutoonian, the winner Jonathan Engel, finalists Ingel Vaikla, Gregorn Zahn and Saul Judd (f.l.t.r.).

For more details click here

LAA17 / ceremony (f.l.t.r.): Saul Judd, Luzie Meyer, the winner Tobi Sauer, Fritz Laszlo Weber, jury member Olaf Stüber, Holger Jens, Stefan Ramírez Pérez. Photo by Avi Dehlinger © 2017

For more details click here.

LAA16 / jury member Fabian Schöneich, the winner James N. Kienitz Wilkins, finalists Sita Scherer & Tina Schönfelder and Saul Judd (f.l.t.r.).

For more details click here.

LAA15 / The opening evening of the LICHTER Art Award 2015: Finalists Mandy Krebs, Ayla Pierrot Arendt, Anna Zett, the winner Jonathan Van Essche and the team Saul Judd, Alla Poppersoni and Simon Schmidt (f.l.t.r.).

For more details click here.

LAA14 / Saul Judd, the winner Bertrand Flanet and jury members Karola Gramann and Peter Gorschlüter at VAU. Photo by Avi Dehlinger © 2014

For more details click here.

LAA13 / jury members Felix Ruhöfer and Saul Judd and the LICHTER Art Award winner John Skoog. Photo by Avi Dehlinger © 2013.

For more details click here.

LAA12 / award ceremony with the finalist Yuki Kishino, Clemens Wilhelm, Young Joo Lee, Sabine loew and the jurors Mike Bouchet, Saul Judd, Sophie von Olfers and the parents of the winner Oliver Susain  (who was not present) (f.l.t.r.).

For more details click here

LAA11 / far left: Luciana Lamothe, the winner of the 1st LICHTER Art Award. Far right Jurors Saul Judd and Matthias Ulrich / photo by Jean Wlodarski © 2011

pfeil_simpelpfeil_simpel_obentoggle_2ein_ausfahrenfacebookflickrinstagramkalenderlupelupe_plusmarkernewsletterpfeil_linkspfeiltoggle_1playshareticket_plusticketstwitterElement 1

Der LICHTER Art Award

Seit seinen Anfängen im Jahre 2008 zelebriert das LICHTER Filmfest Frankfurt International das regionale und internationale Filmschaffen. Neben den jährlichen Wettbewerben für regionale und internationale Kurz- und Langfilme präsentiert das Festival ein qualitativ hochwertiges Programm internationaler, zeitgenössischer Videokunst.

Seit 2010 von Saul Judd kuratiert, startete die Sektion für Videokunst mit der Ausstellung “Stimulus Kino – Subliminal Cinema”, die die Verwendung von Filmreferenzen als strategische Methode in (und von) zeitgenössischer Kunst in den Fokus nahm. Unter den Teilnehmer*innen dieser ersten Ausgabe waren unter anderem Mike Bouchet, Künstler aus New York, jetzt in Frankfurt lebend, und Keren Cytter, geboren in Israel, der in New York lebt. Beide waren zuvor bei der 53. Biennale in Venedig 2009 vertreten.

Eine internationale Jury wählt fünf Finalist*innen aus, deren Filme in die engere Wahl kommen und während des LICHTER Filmfests ausgestellt werden. Die*der Gewinner*in, ebenfalls von der Jury ausgewählt, wird mit dem LICHTER Art Award geehrt, der Preis ist mit 1.000 € dotiert.

Im Jahre 2011 wurde der LICHTER Art Award offiziell gegründet. Er lud und lädt Künstler*innen aus der ganzen Welt dazu ein, einen regelmäßigen, internationalen Wettbewerb, der das Filmfestival begleitet, zu gestalten. Der Preis hat das Ziel, außergewöhnliche künstlerische Arbeiten aus dem Feld der zeitgenössischen Videokunst zu sammeln und zu präsentieren. Luciana Lamothe (ARG) wurde 2011 für ihr herausragendes Werk „Caja Tarro Silla Marco” ausgezeichnet, im Jahre 2012 gewann Oliver Husain (D/C) den Preis für seine Installation „Dear What’s Your Face”, 2013 gewann John Skoog (S/D) mit seinem Film „Sent på Jorden”, Bertrand Flanet (F/D) wurde 2014 für seine Installation „Unmanned Distances“ ausgezeichnet, im Jahre 2015 gewann Jonathan van Essche (B) mit seinem Film „Second of August“, 2016 ging der Preis an James N. Kienitz Wilkins (USA) für seinen Film „B-Roll with Andre“, Tobi Sauer (D) gewann 2017 mit seiner Videoarbeit „Simba in New York“, 2018 war Jakob Engel (D) mit seinem Werk „Waiting for record“ der Gewinner und 2019 gewann Andrew de Freitas (CDN/BRA) für sein Werk „WEIGHT“.

LAA19 / Saul Judd, Endre Aalrust, der Gewinner Andrew de Freitas, die Jurorinnen Christina Lehnert und Tamara Grcic (v.l.n.r.) © Photo by Semira Ben Ajili

Mehr Informationen zum LICHTER Art Award 2019 erhalten Sie hier.

LAA18 / Jury-Mitglied Sergey Harutoonian, der Gewinner Jonathan Engel, Finalist*innen Ingel Vaikla, Gregorn Zahn und Saul Judd (v.l.n.r.).

Mehr Informationen zum LICHTER Art Award 2018 erhalten Sie hier.

LAA17 / Preisverleihung (v.l.n.r.): Saul Judd, Luzie Meyer, der Gewinner Tobi Sauer, Fritz Laszlo Weber, Jury-Mitglied Olaf Stüber, Holger Jens, Stefan Ramírez Pérez. Photo by Avi Dehlinger © 2017

Mehr Informationen zum LICHTER Art Award 2017 erhalten Sie hier

LAA16 / Jury-Mitglied Fabian Schöneich, der Gewinner James N. Kienitz Wilkins, die Finalistinnen Sita Scherer & Tina Schönfelder und Saul Judd (v.l.n.r.).

Mehr Informationen zum LICHTER Art Award 2016 erhalten Sie hier

LAA15 / Der Eröffnungsabend des LICHTER Art Award 2015: die Finalistinnen Mandy Krebs, Ayla Pierrot Arendt, Anna Zett, der Gewinner Jonathan Van Essche and das Team Saul Judd, Alla Poppersoni and Simon Schmidt (v.l.n.r.).

Mehr Informationen zum LICHTER Art Award 2015 erhalten Sie hier

LAA14 / Saul Judd, der Gewinner Bertrand Flanet and Jury-Mitglieder Karola Gramann und Peter Gorschlüter im Festivalzentrum VAU. Photo by Avi Dehlinger © 2014

Mehr Informationen zum LICHTER Art Award 2014 erhalten Sie hier

LAA13 / Jury-Mitglieder Felix Ruhöfer and Saul Judd und der LICHTER Art Award-Gewinner John Skoog. Photo by Avi Dehlinger © 2013.

LAA12 / Preisverleihung mit den Finalist*innen Yuki Kishino, Clemens Wilhelm, Young Joo Lee, Sabine Loew und den Juror*innen Mike Bouchet, Saul Judd, Sophie von Olfers und den Eltern des Gewinners Oliver Husain (der nicht anwesend war) (v.l.n.r.).

Mehr Informationen zum LICHTER Art Award 2012 erhalten Sie hier

LAA11 / ganz links: Luciana Lamothe, Gewinnerin des 1. LICHTER Art Award. Ganz rechts: Juroren Saul Judd und Matthias Ulrich. Photo by Jean Wlodarski © 2011

Mehr Informationen zum LICHTER Art Award 2011 erhalten Sie hier

pfeil_simpelpfeil_simpel_obentoggle_2ein_ausfahrenfacebookflickrinstagramkalenderlichter_logolupelupe_plusmarkernewsletterpfeil_linkspfeiltoggle_1playshareticket_plusticketstwitterElement 1